Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame

Visitor Info


 Louisiana Political Museum
499 E. Main Street
(318) 628.5928 or 1.877.628.5928

The Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame contains memorabilia of political figures throughout the state's history. The Hall of Fame includes governors, senators, congressman and representatives, a president and a presidential advisor. We have a singing governor, a hog hunting governor and a governor who would be king. Each inductee has his or her own display containing memorabilia and facts. Hours of Operation: M-F 9am to 5pm, Sat. By appointment only.

The Louisiana Political Museum & Hall of Fame is located inside the old Louisiana and Arkansas Depot, circa 1908. The depot was moved to its present location in 1988 and renovated to house the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame.

The museum opened in August of 1993 on the anniversary of Huey P. Long's 100th birthday. You see, Winnfield is considered to be the birthplace of politics in Louisiana, for it is the home of three governors. The museum has accumulated over 100,000 artifacts and memorabilia relating to politicians and politics in Louisiana. There are life-sized mannequins of the two famous brothers, Huey and Earl Long.

Frequently you can hear recordings of the speeches made by both men being played as visitors look back into the political past of Winnfield. Each of the inductees into the Hall has his own display with a caricature drawn by famed political cartoonist Pap Dean, who is also a member of the Hall of Fame. Currently there are 120 inductees into the Political Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame Inductees


Hale Boggs, William C.C. Claiborne, James "Jimmie” Davis, P.A. "Pap” Dean, Edwin Edwards, Dudley LeBlanc, Earl K. Long, Huey P. Long, Russell B. Long, John J. McKeithen, Ernest "Dutch” Morial, B.B. "Sixty” Rayburn


Lenard Allen, Lindy Boggs, Victor Bussie, Allen J. Ellender, Gillis Long


Camille F. Gravel, Sam A. Hanna, Delesseps S. "Chep” Morrison, Zachary Taylor, Edward Douglas White


Louis Berry, James Carville, Mary Evelyn Parker, Leander Perez, Gus Weill


Oscar K. Allen, Murphy J. Foster, J. Bennett Johnston, Melinda Schweggmann, Dave Treen


Speedy O. Long, John H. Overton, Joe D. Waggonner, T. Harry Williams


D. J. "Cat” Doucet, Jimmy Fitzmorris, Douglas Fowler, Iris Kelso, Ed Renwick


Jefferson Caffery, William Jefferson, Jeannette Knoll, Jimmy Long, Charles "Buddy” Roemer


Wiley Hilburn, Jr., Robert Kennon, Harry Lee, Wade O. Martin, Jr., Harold McSween, Victor H. Schiro


Jesse H. Bankston, Kenneth W. Bowen, Harley Bozeman, Nathan Burl Cain, William J. "Bill” Dodd, Francis "Grevy” Grevemberg, John H. Hainkel, Jr., William Henson Moore III, Joe Sampite, Lillian Walker


John Alario, John Breaux, Jay Chevalier, Harry Connick, Sr., Murphy "Mike” Foster, Charles Fuselier, Carolyn Huntoon, Raymond Laborde, Robert Livingston, Richard Stalder, W.J. "Billy” Tauzin


William "Billy” Boles, "Charlie” DeWitt, Dudley Guglielmo, Sr., Doris Lindsey Holland, Moon Landrieu, Edgar Mouton, Jr., Edmund Reggie, Virginia Shehee, Jack Wardlaw


Robert W. Bates, Carlos & Mary Flores, Eddie J. Jordan, Jr., J. Curtis Joubert, William "Bill" Lynch, Barbara Boggs Sigmund, Francis C. Thompson


Kathleen Babineaux Blanco, Charles "Charlie" Cook, Sylvan Friedman, Donald E. Hines, W. Fox McKeithen, Cecil Picard, Victor "Vic" Stelly


Diana E. Bajoie, Sally Clausen, Charles & Virginia DeGravelles, Huntington "Hunt" Downer, Jr., Theodore "Ted" Jones, Mary Landrieu, Sean O'Keefe


Richard Baker, Robert "Bobby" Freeman, Melvin "Kip" Holden, James Joseph, Donald "Don" Kelly, John LaPlante, Jr., Bob Odom, Edward "Ned" Randolph, Jr., Joe Salter


Al Ater, Foster Campbell, Chris John, Walter Lee, Jessel Ourso, Patrick Taylor

2010 Inductees:

Rodney Alexander, Randy Ewing, Charlton Lyons, Sammy Nunez, William "Billy" Nungesser, Risley "Pappy" Triche

© 2018 City of Winnfield |       120 E. Main Street Winnfield, LA 71483

Powered By Revize Login